The Association of Scottish Business Women is delighted to announce the shortlisted finalists for the 2019 National Business Awards. The winners will be announced at a glittering ceremony to be held at The Corn Exchange, Edinburgh on Saturday 14th  September 2019.

Young Inspiring Businesswoman of the Year Award

Introduced in 2013, this award recognises the qualities of a successful entrepreneurial woman, in employment or in business, including but not limited to her drive, focus, vision and resilience, inspirational leadership and confidence.

Suzanne McKellar, McKellar Accountancy

Wati Calley, Hepburns Nail Lounge

Zoe Forbes, Sweetpea Café

Most Innovative Start up of the Year Award sponsored by Vodafone Business

This award celebrates the new ideas, processes, products, services, technologies and applications that have the greatest impact on an organisation’s start up success. This award recognises a young enterprise, that has most successfully applied innovation, and is one year old, or less, at 31st May in the year of the award. 

Fairy Sleep Mother

Yoga Warrior Ltd

Young Business of the Year Award sponsored by HOOD

Introduced by the Association of Scottish Businesswomen (ASB) in 2006, this Award is open to businesses, trading for three years or less at 31st May in this award year.


Handpicked Lodges

Heather Thomson Naturopath

Kirsty Anne Rae Coaching

Walker Massage

Wishing Well Health

Community Commitment Award

The Community Commitment Award, introduced in 2017, recognises the contribution of an individual, group, business or organisation to a charity or community project, by promoting social action, community involvement, volunteering or fundraising.

Angie Foreman
Helen Carlin

Best Performing Team of the Year 

Introduced in 2013 this award celebrates the power of the many in driving breakthrough results and impact.

The judges have declared the following as a worthy finalist. However, with insufficient eligible applicants, this award category will not announce an overall winner.

B-Able Business Services Ltd

Recognition of Outstanding Contribution Award sponsored by Re:markable

The Recognition of Outstanding Contribution Award was introduced in 2000, and revised in 2017, to showcase and celebrate achievement among women in Scotland across all sectors. This award will be presented to a woman who has demonstrated outstanding contribution to a business or the wider community, over and above her normal working activities. She may be a mentor, volunteer or charity ambassador giving of her time, skills and energy for the benefit of others. The award is aimed at identifying business role models who inspire and motivate others.

Ann-Maree Morrison

Debbie Hutchison

Kirste Johnston

Margarette Bryan

Professional of the Year 

Introduced in 2013 this award recognises the qualities of a successful woman in a profession who makes a significant individual contribution to support her organisation to deliver superior performance.

Carol Dickie, Ardanach Lettings Ltd

Emma Armstrong, B-Able Business Services

Julie Hall, WEvolution

Kim Moran Hogg, Vodafone UK

Louise Cameron, ICTS UK

Monica Coyle, Positive Pulse Scotland

Nicola Booth, Finding your Feet

Exporting Business of the Year

This award was introduced in 2017 and is open to any business who is exporting a product or service, or is planning to export within the next six months.

The judges have declared the following as a worthy finalist. However, with insufficient eligible applicants, this award category will not announce an overall winner.

Scottish Keepsakes

Most Enterprising Business of the Year

Introduced by the Association of Scottish Businesswomen (ASB) in 2003, entrants for this award, are selected and endorsed as the nomination by their affiliate groups. The  award recognises the efforts of those members who have perhaps identified a niche market or moved the business in an entirely new direction, as well as those who are more recently established.

Clinic 22

Wild Blossom

Planit Scotland

The Learning Cauldron

Business of the Year

Introduced in 2013, this award is open to businesses established before 31 May 2015.

Appetite for Business

B-Able Business Services Ltd

Sew Nice Neckwarmers

Sarah’s Creative Occasions

Scottish Keepsakes

Trained for Life

Wow (Scotland) Ltd

Recognition of Best Practice in Diversity and Inclusion

Introduced in 2019 this new award recognises an individual who has made a significant contribution to enhance diversity, equality and inclusion in their business or business area. 

Angie Foreman, Coca Cola 5by20

Ann-Maree Morrison, Labels4Kids

Jackie Leiper, Scottish Widows

Kerry Anne Quinn, TCS-eco

Kirsty Horrocks, LifeScan Scotland

Liberty Bligh, Liberty Bligh

Best Affiliated Group of the Year

Introduced in 2015, this award recognises and rewards the contribution of an affiliated group to the overall success of the businesswomen throughout Scotland. Revised in 2019 to encourage every affiliated group to celebrate their achievements by demonstrating the values of linking, inspiring and supporting their members, committees, the entire affiliated network. And to recognise their own contribution to the wider business community and the Scottish economy.

Ayrshire Business Women

Edinburgh Businesswomen’s Club

Highland Business Women

Moray Business Women

Judging Panel

We are most grateful to our panel of independent judges who have deliberated over the application forms and interviewed our finalists:

Sandra Benn –  Board Member, Mentor, Active Contributor To Causes, Especially Gender Diversity

Roz Haughey – Re:markable

Bonnie Clarke – Re:markable

Helen Livingston – Branding Boutique

Steve Turner – DPS Group & Exolta Capital Partners

Dorothy Henke – Business Gateway

Kim Moran Hogg – Vodafone UK

Nick Price – Bright Purple

Maggie Gorman – Business Gateway

Emma Miller – Hood Magazine

Jeanette Stevenson – Royal College of Physicians 

Gordana Ross – Rise to Health Coaching

Julie Hall – WEvolution

Alison Henderson – Dundee & Angus Chamber of Commerce

We are indebted to our Awards sponsors: 



2019 ASB National Business Awards Dinner

Join us for our twentieth National Business Awards at the Corn Exchange, Edinburgh on Saturday 14th September as we celebrate the achievements and successes of businesswomen from throughout Scotland.

This is a night for dressing up, shouting from the rooftops, and applauding the hard work, determination and commitment of all our finalists.

Our evening will begin with a drinks reception at 6.30pm. After being seated in the Exchange Room, we will honour all our finalists and present each with a certificate.

Following a delicious three course dinner with wine we will hear from our guest speaker and then announce the award winners. Each will be presented with a beautiful trophy to mark their achievements. Then relax, celebrate together and dance the night away! 

Then relax, celebrate together and dance the night away! 

Tickets On Sale – Book now! 

ASB Member Tickets are £85 

Non-member tickets are £95

Tables of 10 cost £850 (full tables may include non-members guests). 

So join us at the Corn Exchange, Edinburgh and Book via our website now.

Ticket Sales End at 18:00 on Friday 30th August 2019 

Advertising opportunities

Promote your business to over 200 finalists and guests in the Awards Dinner programme from only £100.

Contact to book your space. Copy deadline Friday 30th August.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *